I love the Barenaked Ladies Holiday Album

How lucky are we that we have lights so we can see
Although the day is done
What a miracle that a spark lifts these candles out of the dark
Every evening, one by one
Until the end of Chanukkah, of Chanukkah.

I’ve always considered myself a night owl. It was full of warm beds and good tv and comfortable pajamas. What’s not to like?

It wasn’t until I moved to NY that I learned just how bleak and draining the dark could be. It was where I learned to finally appreciate spring and light, the importance of Yotzer ha-Me’orot to my favored Maariv Aravim.

And now, I’m reflecting on this last year of my life. I had just moved home last year at this time. It was so hard to see the light in my life. I feel so blessed this year, not to have the light, which I always had, but to make the choice to see it. Lighting the candles during this holiday really helps me to count the blessings I have in my life.

A job in these bleak moments.
A boyfriend I am crazy about.
Debt paid off.
Better relationship with my family.
Amazing friends I miss after periods of absence.
A reconnection with my love of reading for pleasure.
Clearer distinction between my wants and my needs.
A stronger faith.

I’m a pretty damn lucky person. And may the light of this season glow in your life in the coming months. Chag sameach.

One thought on “I love the Barenaked Ladies Holiday Album

Leave a Reply

