I made my first kugel!

I loved kugel from the moment I first tasted it.  Sweet, rich, and not too heavy, it was divine.  So when I heard about the young adult Shabbat potluck coming up, I decided it would be a good dish to bring.  Classically Jewish, simple to make.  But, never having made it before, I didn’t want my first run to be for the potluck.  No one likes retrieving their dish to find it untouched, especially when you’re the newbie.

So I decided to make a test run.  I selected an apricot kugel recipe from one of my favorite online recipe collections, allrecipes.com.  The hardest part was boiling the noodles, and an hour later, I was sampling the goods.

And boy, is it tastey.  I feel very Ashkenazic today.  My mom hates cottage cheese, though, and I should probably not eat the entire casserole dish of kugel myself.  I think I might share at work.

Leave a Reply

