Father’s Footsteps

The last film I saw of the 30th SFJFF was Father’s Footsteps, a French film about a Tunisian family whose youngest son grows up while his father’s life of crime leads him to prison. It was incredibly well written, witty, and endearing. I loved the actress who plays the mother from Go, Live and Become, but I’d like to see her in more varied roles in the future. She seems doomed to live the life of a pioneering Jewish mother.

I’d recommend it to anyone, but mostly because I’d love to be able to ask them what they thought the last scene meant. Had he lost respect for his father? Was he no longer idolizing him? Did he understand what had happened? Was he relieve for it to be over? I couldn’t tell! I wish there had just been one more facial expression to give a subtle hint.

Leave a Reply

